Parigot Crémant de Bourgogne

The vinification

Cluster of Chardonnay.Wines in Burgundy are made from three grape varieties, Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, and Aligoté. Crémant is the only appellation in Burgundy that is allowed to blend these different grape varieties together; it is the complex result of numerous operations performed on a well-calculated schedule.

According to regulation, the grapes must arrive whole to the wine press. To achieve this, special care is taken during the harvest: manual picking and the usage of shallow containers to avoid crushing the grapes. Parigot then uses a sorting table to further ensure the healthy state of the harvest. The initial quality of the grapes is indispensable to obtain a high quality crémant. The harvest comes from different parts of the region: the low lying plains, the area surrounding Beaune, and the hills around Beaune; this allows for a perfect balance of base wines. Each variety is pressed separately and vinified according to origin.

Engraving of Marc Lachaize on stainless vat, representing cluster and leaves in vineyardThe alcoholic and malolactic fermentation occur in stainless steel vats.

Crémant is a blended wine. Each blend expresses a personal choice. The blending takes place at the beginning of the year following the harvest. It is a decisive ritual in which each variety, each place of origin, is significant. In essence, there is no established formula for this; it is Parigot's know-how that allows the house to maintain its own style and consistent quality despite the differing specificities of each harvest. Fresh, fruity, intense, this is the Parigot style.

Parigot Crémant de Bourgogne

La vinification

Grappe de chardonnayLes vins de Bourgogne sont issus des cépages Pinot Noir, Chardonnay et Aligoté. Le Crémant est la seule appellation en Bourgogne à pouvoir assembler ces différents cépages. Il est le résultat complexe de nombreuses opérations qui se déroulent selon un calendrier rigoureux.

Dans la réglementation des crémants, les grappes de raisin doivent arriver entières dans le pressoir. Cela implique des soins particuliers au moment de la récolte : vendanger manuellement et n'utiliser que des caisses de faible contenance afin que les raisins ne s'écrasent pas. L'utilisation d'une table de tri par la maison Parigot optimise l'état sanitaire de la vendange. La qualité initiale des raisins est indispensable pour obtenir un bon crémant. La vendange arrive de différentes provenances : plaine, côte et hautes côtes de Beaune, ce qui permet un équilibre parfait des vins de base. Chaque cépage est pressé séparément et vinifié selon l'origine.

Gravure sur cuve inox de Marc Lachaize représentant grappe et feuilles de vigneLes fermentations alcoolique et malolactique se font en cuve inox.

Le crémant est un vin dit « d'assemblage ». Chaque cuvée exprime un choix personnel. L'assemblage a lieu au début de l'année suivant la vendange. C'est un rituel décisif au cours duquel chaque cépage, chaque origine a son importance. En effet, il n'existe pas de recette établie, c'est le savoir-faire de Parigot, qui permet de maintenir un style propre et une qualité constante en dépit des données spécifiques de chaque vendange. Frais, fruité, intense : voilà le style Parigot.